Skip to content

Pain, rhymes with Gain?

January 11, 2012

One Born Every Minute

 

This week’s One Born Every Minute has the theme pain; two women have very different approaches to dealing with pain. One is scared after a traumatic first birth, the other has declined ante-natal classes because she feels they focus too much on pain relief, and that’s a negative starting point.

In thinking about this post, I tried to remember back to what my biggest fear was. And I think it was just an overwhelming phobia of hospital. All things medical – the smell, the beds, the injections, the examinations.

The overwhelming, primordial urge to have my baby – to see her safely into the world helped me conquer my fear bit by bit.  I no longer cried (I know! What a wimp!) when they took my blood. My breathing calmed when I sat in the hospital room.

But when we were told she was breech the scenario was recast. Scared of a c-section I began to panic. I’d already been listening to a hypno-birthing cd, determined to try and reconcile my irrational fear of doctors/hospitals/etc. I was booked in for an ECV (where they attempt to make the baby do a forward roll through giving your tummy a Chinese burn). It hurt and I was a mess. I tried my ‘relaxation’ technique but all my brain wanted to do was get my body up and out of there! Anyway, the ECV didn’t work so we were booked in for a section.

Did it hurt? Not at the time. Did I panic? Yes. Was I scared? Yes. Did I hobble around for a week afterwards? Yes. Would I do it again? Yes. Anything for the baby!

 

This post is part of the Channel 4 \ Netmums One Born Every Minute linky that is currently running on Netmums Blog. 

Channel 4 and Netmums would love you to get involved so please pop across and see what it’s all about. 


One Born Every Minute is on Channel 4 on Wednesdays at 9pm.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 10:18 pm

    I do like the fact that blogs such as these show that not everything can be planned and things change.

    • January 12, 2012 9:09 pm

      You’re so right! You have to be uber-flexible and while it’s good to have a plan etc, sometimes you have to go with the flo. Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

