Skip to content

One Born Every Minute #dads

January 3, 2012

To celebrate the start of a new series of One Born Every Minute, Netmums and Channel 4 have teamed up run a blog prompt on the theme of the first episode which is all about dads.

Here’s my story. It’s not the birth story as such, but it’s all about dads.

The fact that my husband was there for the birth of our daughter was of course important, but it had an additional resonance as my own father hadn’t been there when I was born.

Of course, I didn’t know this but the story my mother told me haunted me. They’d emigrated to Australia, but she returned to the UK to have me. My father had been due to follow her, but didn’t. It wasn’t so much the birth itself, I think men were rarely there for the ‘event’ itself.

But it was the aftermath. Women stayed in hospital much longer in those days. The trauma of fathers visiting each day to see their newborns became so painful that the staff moved my mother to a private room. In the end, my father never came back to the UK.

So when our daughter arrived, the fact my husband was there meant the world to me. It was a planned c-section so not only was I prepared for the fact that my husband would be the first to hold Miss H, but I rejoiced in that fact. She will have what I never did. A dad. Right from the start.

This post is part of the Channel 4 \ Netmums One Born Every Minute linky that is currently running on Netmums Blog. Channel 4 and Netmums would love you to get involved so please pop across and see what it’s all about. 
One Born Every Minute is on Channel 4 on Wednesdays at 9pm, starting 4th January.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 10:51 am

    Lovely post and the picture is so cute (we love the little teddy peeking in the corner) Thanks for taking part – don’t forget to add One Born Every Minute to your tags so it shows over on the Parent Bloggers Network too.

  2. January 4, 2012 11:05 am

    Oh yes, done! Thanks x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

